My Giant Cockroach Story (Yikes!!)

The first year I went to Zambia we were told that the motel we were staying at was not going to be the nicest place around. I had already prepared myself for lots of spiders, bedbugs, and lizards because of the description of the place my mom had stayed at in Zimbabwe. There was no problem with these critters even though the spiders kinda worried me. The insect I was not prepared for was the cockroach…

The girl I was rooming with (we will call her Jess) seemed a bit more scarred of bugs than me, but I figured if something came around I could just get rid of it. After unpacking we went outside and a few people started talking about how they had found a cockroach or two in their rooms. Jess and I said we hadn’t and thought we were just lucky. Oh how wrong we were!

A little later we went back to our room and locked the door. Jess had gone into the bathroom and I sat on my bed reading. I was about to go back outside because it was a little stuffy inside when Jess opened the bathroom door and let out a huge gasp.

“What?” I asked a little timid. Jess started to squeamishly dance on her toes and shake her head back and forth. “What is it?” I asked again, but I already knew… Jess barely whispered it in a high pitched voice, “cockroach!”

I looked around the bed and there was this massive FOUR INCH cockroach. I have never seen one so big in my life. It was as big as those hissing cockroaches my neighbor had as pets! As soon as I looked it started to move towards Jess’s half opened suitcase. She yelped and kicking her suitcase away from the monster while flailing her hands in the air. I was trying to unlock the door to get the heck out of there, but the key wouldn’t work! Jess gave up on her suitcase and came by me to get out. We both looked back and that thing started to take flight. It was actually flying right at us! Jess was already banging on the door and I started to too when finally the door flung open and we flew out.

One of the leaders and another guy were already at our door frantically asking, “What is it?! What’s the matter?!” I belted out, “There’s a giant cockroach!” They both started laughing at us as if we were being drama queens or something. Our leader went into our room and said, “Wow, this guy is pretty big.” With that he smashed the sucker right in the middle of our floor. Disgusting, but at least the terror was over.

Looking back now the whole thing makes me laugh; but at the time, when that bug started flying at us I about wet my pants!

What about you? Do you have any funny or terrifying cockroach stories? Leave a comment below!

Leave a Reply

