I’m Going to the Dominican Republic!

As I mentioned in an earlier post I am planning on volunteering in the Dominican Republic. My trip is in less than a month and I am so excited! I have not been out of the country in a couple years, so this trip is much anticipated.

A few weeks ago I received the itinerary for my trip. I am not exaggerating when I say I was jumping with joy when I opened up my email and revealed its content.  Of course, just like any trip I go on, our flight leaves really early in the morning. This is completely O.K. for me, because it means cheaper tickets. Another good thing is it looks like we will only be traveling for around 7-8 hours, which is not bad at all.

After arriving we plan to get settled in the hotel we are staying at. We are going on this trip through a Christian organization, so they have a safe place for us to stay. Once we are unpacked, hopefully we will have some time to explore! Exploring is my favorite part about being in a new location. It allows you to see what kind of activities there are, foods to eat, and gives you a sense of the town’s personality.

The following day we will be visiting an orphanage in the area. This is the part I am most excited for!Bench of Children in Chiasa, Zambia Doing home visits and playing with all the kids during the times I went to Zambia was my favorite part of those trips. We will be visiting the orphanage twice during the week. On one of those days we will also be playing kickball at one of the schools and helping with a food distribution.

During the rest of the time we plan on visiting a market, touring Santo Domino, and to our great surprise, snorkeling!

Through this upcoming trip I hope to meet new people and gain a greater sense of what the world is like. Hopefully I will be able to positively impact the people I meet and put a smile on their faces.

Leave a comment below! Have you ever been to the Dominican Republic? Do you have any advice for a person going to the D.R. for the first time?

Leave a Reply

